Outstanding Teachers Deserve Recognition!

Outstanding Teachers Deserve Recognition!

Do you know a teacher that gets students excited about science?

A teacher that goes “above and beyond” because they love teaching and their students?

Nominate them for one of the STANYS Excellence in teaching awards!


We, at STANYS, would like to formally recognize these teachers, those that are doing an outstanding job in meeting todays teaching challenges.  If you have a colleague deserving of recognition for their excellence in science teaching please nominate them, or yourself, for one of our Awards.  If selected, STANYS will present an award of recognition in November at the 2016 STANYS Conference.  We will treat these outstanding professionals with paid registration and lodging to the conference along with an article in our newsletter to honor their accomplishments.


Excellence in Science Teaching Awards honor educators who have inspired students and colleagues at three levels: one at the intermediate level, one high school and one for college instructors.


Champion of TeacherDevelopment Awards recognize administrators deserving of recognition for promoting professional learning for science teachers. The is an award to recognize building and/or school district administrators with an outstanding record of promoting staff development and advancing excellence in science education. This award is open to educators or administrators with responsibilities for supervising teachers of science at any grade level.


• The Fellows New Teacher Conference Award is an award that recognizes a teacher that has never attended the STANYS Conference and will be in his/her second through fifth year of full time teaching

in September.


• The Anton Banko Award for Excellence in Teaching Primary Science recognizes an educator

teaching K-6 who is an outstanding teacher of science. The Banko Award covers expenses to attend the STANYS Annual Conference (up to $1500) and provides a $1500 stipendfor the purchase of science materials for the classroom.



More information about these awards can befound on the STANYS website “Awards” page, http://www.stanys.org/about/awards.html.

You will find details about the awards and the application procedures. If you would like to nominate a deserving teacher, please do so by going to the website and filling out the nomination form.  

Send your nominations by May 15.


We will contact nominees with a letter of congratulations along with information

about the application process.


The deadline for all the award applications is July 1, 2016.

Contact me with any questions or for more information at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..">This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

— Wanda Padula, STANYS Awards


stanys newsletters

get social

science matters